[]
[]

Sheltering Rain

Moyes, Jojo (Book - 2002)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Sheltering Rain
Print

Item Details

Baker & Taylor
A family drama set in the Irish countryside focuses on three generations of women who are reunited after decades of separation and estrangement.

HARPERCOLL

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher comes an evocative novel by a talented new writer.

At a celebration in honor of Queen Elizabeth II's coronation in 1953, the rebellious young Joy falls in love at first sight and marries the man of her dreams. Now, forty years later, Joy's fifteen-year-old granddaughter, Sabine, seeks shelter at her grandparents' house in Ireland, the very place from which her mother, Kate, ran years before. Suddenly, with an impetuous and inquisitive young woman in the house, Joy finds herself facing the secrets buried in her past.

Troubled by her worsening relationship with Sabine, Kate returns to Ireland. When the three women come together, they discover some fundamental truths about love, duty, and the relationships between mothers and daughters.

Jojo Moyes effortlessly weaves a rich and vivid tapestry of character, time, and place. The result is a heartwarming and believably real novel that sets the benchmark for a new generation of storytelling.



Blackwell North Amer
On Coronation night in 1953 the ex-pat community in Hong Kong gathers for a celebration party. While they strain to listen to the proceedings on a faulty wireless, twenty-one-year-old Joy falls in love. She is engaged within twenty-four hours, but will not see her fiance again for a year.
In 1980 eighteen-year-old Kate's rebellion is to run away from County Wexford with her illegitimate child.
Fifteen years later Sabine leaves trendy Hackney to visit the grandparents she has never known, and finds that time in Wexford seems to have stood still.
When Sabine, her mother and grandmother are brought together, a deeply buried family secret is discovered - as well as some fundamental truths: about the conflict between love and duty; about women's choices, and about mothers and daughters.

Baker
& Taylor

A family drama set in the Irish countryside focuses on three generations of women who are reunited after decades of separation and estrangement. A first novel.

Authors: Moyes, Jojo, 1969-
Title: Sheltering rain
Publisher: New York : William Morrow, c2002
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: viii, 358 p. ; 24 cm
ISBN: 0060012889
Branch Call Number: x
Statement of Responsibility: Jojo Moyes
LCCN: 2001039927
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Joy is estranged from her only daughter, Kate, and knows little of her sixteen-year-old granddaughter Sabine. But all that is about to change when Sabine arrives, seeking shelter at her grandparents' house in Ireland -- the very place from which her mother, Kate, ran years before.

Suddenly, with an impetuous and inquisitive young woman in the house, Joy finds herself facing long-buried secrets of her past. And Kate, too, must bridge the painful chasm between herself, her daughter, and ultimately, her mother. Coming together, these three generations discover fundamental truths about love, duty, and the unbreakable bond that unites them as mother, daughters, and women

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings

No Subject Headings have been added to this title yet


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app08 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41