The Soul of the Rhino

The Soul of the Rhino

A Nepali Adventure With Kings and Elephant Drivers, Billionaires and Bureaucrats, Shamans and Scientists and the Indian Rhinoceros

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
NBN
This new release is a spirited yet humble account of one man's scientific career and personal journey to save the endangered rhinoceros in his native Nepal.
For more info go to souloftherhino.com


Globe Fearon Co
The story of a Nepalese who has spent his entire life safeguarding an endangered species
This new release is a spirited yet humble account of one man’s scientific career and personal journey to save the endangered rhinoceros in his native Nepal. Fresh out of university, Mishra began his work with aboriginal tribes, the Nepalese royal house, the World Wildlife Fund, and the World Bank to protect the animal in its Himalayan habitat. In spite of decades spent political arm-wrestling, traveling and fund-raising, Mishra is still fearful to this day that Maoist insurgents and poachers will kill off the Asian rhinoceros for good—a tragedy after all his hard-won gains. This is the first book about saving the Asian one-horned rhinoceros, and the only one to delve into the multi-layered political labyrinths of wildlife conservation in South Asia. Filled with candor and bittersweet humor, Mishra recreates his journey on behalf of the rhino, an ugly yet enchanting, terrifying yet delicate creature. In the tradition of Leakey and Fossey, Mishra will be hailed by the media as the animal’s advocate, and SOUL OF THE RHINO will quickly engage the soul of the reader.
Hemanta Mishra now lives in Virginia. This is his first book.


Book News
Now based in Virginia, conservationist Mishra (American Himalayan Foundation) has worked with the Smithsonian Institution, the World Wildlife Fund, the World Bank, the Global Environmental Facility, and other major conservation groups. A native Nepali, he was a key player in the international team that preserved and stabilized the habitat of Nepal. He offers a fascinating personal account of three decades of conservation work in Nepal, mostly in the Royal Chitwan National Park in the foothills of the Himalayas--the last stronghold of the great one-horned Asian rhino--which describes his efforts to save the species from extinction. Academic but accessible to general readers interested in wildlife, the Himalayan region, and Hindu and Buddhist culture. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Publisher: Guilford, Conn. : Lyons Press, c2008
ISBN: 9781599211466
1599211467
Characteristics: xxiii, 232 p., [8] p. of plates : ill., map ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Ottaway, Jim Jr

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top