Ghost Ship

Ghost Ship

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Hoping to leave her misfit past behind her, ace starship pilot Theo Waitley, the daughter of a renowned scholar mother and an interstellar aristocrat father, discovers her heritage as the leader of a powerful Liaden clan before she is targeted by influential enemies.
Publisher: Riverdale, NY : Baen Books, 2011
ISBN: 9781439134559
Characteristics: 328 p. ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Miller, Steve 1950 July 31-


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Sep 01, 2015

Correct Reading Order
(Copied from:
The Liaden Universe® is not tidy. Nor is it a series, exactly. It’s a Universe. There is therefore no orderly progression...

Now, granted, there are some books that need to be read this-before(-or-after)-that, but the Whole Universe is not so ordered.

It is also entirely untrue — though some enthusiastic readers who have been with the universe since the beginning will insist upon the point — that a new reader must read all the previous books in the Universe before attempting the most recent.

It is true that a new reader may miss some of the nuances that so delight long-time readers, but the larger story will be perfectly comprehensible and entirely enjoyable. Indeed, if the new reader goes on with the series, they will develop their own supply of nuance and so reap their own delight.

Below are some suggestions for reading orders, as well as a list of books that may be read with no prior knowledge of the Liaden Universe®.
Novels that may be read with no prior reading in the Universe:

--Agent of Change, Conflict of Honors, Local Custom, Scout’s Progress, Balance of Trade, Fledgling, Crystal Soldier, Necessity’s Child, Dragon in Exile
Novels that are direct sequels:

--Agent of Change, Carpe Diem, Plan B, I Dare, Dragon in Exile

--Fledgling, Saltation, Ghost Ship, Dragon Ship

--Crystal Soldier, Crystal Dragon

--Balance of Trade, Trade Secret
Novels that may benefit from being read in a particular order:

--Carpe Diem may also benefit from reader familiarity with Conflict of Honors

--Mouse and Dragon may be more accessible to those who have previously read Scout’s Progress.

--Dragon in Exile may be more accessible to those who have previously read the Agent of Change Sequence (Agent of Change, Conflict of Honors, Carpe Diem, Plan B, I Dare)
The order in which the books were written:

--Agent of Change, Conflict of Honors, Carpe Diem, Plan B, Local Custom, Scout’s Progress, I Dare, Balance of Trade, Crystal Soldier, Crystal Dragon, Fledgling, Saltation, Mouse and Dragon, Ghost Ship, Dragon Ship, Necessity’s Child, Trade Secret, Dragon in Exile, Alliance of Equals
Internal Chronology:

--Crystal Soldier, Crystal Dragon, Balance of Trade, Trade Secret, Local Custom, Scout’s Progress, Mouse and Dragon, Conflict of Honors, Agent of Change, Carpe Diem, Plan B, Fledgling, I Dare, Saltation, Ghost Ship, Necessity’s Child*, Dragon Ship*, Dragon in Exile*, Alliance of Equals*

(Copied from:

Aug 30, 2013

I am amending my original comment:
***If you have not already read the first books in this series, beginning with Fledgling, PUT THIS BOOK DOWN! It definitely will help you understand what is going on if you know the background.***
This book held my attention from the very start. The characters are distinct from each other and show up in a logical way and for a reason. They all have a purpose and yet we are left wondering what more will happen to them as time goes on. It left me wanting to go to the start and read the first book - Fledgling - and I've reserved it now for pickup. This book is an easy read but isn't goofy or silly or childish. It has moments of intrigue without having to use fancy science, magic or special abilities (like telepathy and things). Well recommended.

Oct 06, 2011

The entire Liaden Universe series is a fantastic read. The recent Ghost Ship weaves together multiple branches of plot that have evolved over the years. It's certainly good on it's own, and if you start here, you'll want to go back to the beginning and read the whole series, and then re-read this. Liaden books are highly addicitive!


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SMCL

To Top