Story Thieves

Story Thieves

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
9
3
1
Rate this:
Except for reading the Kiel Gnomenfoot magic adventure series, Owen's life is boring until he sees his classmate Bethany climb out of a book in the school library and he learns that Bethany is half-fictional and has been searching every book she can find for her missing father, a fictional character.
Publisher: New York :, Aladdin,, 2015
Edition: First Aladdin hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781481409193
1481409190
9781481409209
1481409204
Characteristics: 383 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

MelifluousView Nov 07, 2016

This was such a fun book, but be patient because it starts slowly. I loved watch Bethany and Owen grow as characters by the end.

a
AlluraLyne
Sep 30, 2016

If you are contemplating reading this book and reading through the comments to see if you should - then the short answer is yes!!!

I loved this book (and the next one too)! I loved it and the author's writing style so much that I was tickled with the Acknowledgements. If the author can make the Acknowledgements page amazing imagine what he can do for the rest of the story!

Enjoy!!

violet_zebra_407 Aug 15, 2016

omg! sososososososo awesome!!!! I want 2 jump into THIS book! so awesome!

h
HollyKelsch
Jul 19, 2016

I absolutely LOVED this book!
It referenced other great books and had much for readers to relate to. It had clever word play and great theories.
Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Fablehaven will positively love this book!
It is truly a must-read.

hobsonabi Jul 07, 2016

Wooooooow! How I would give anything to have Bethany's awesome power. So cool to be reading a book about the love of books, I think it just about sums my life up perfectly. From the adventures too the good turning bad (WHAT?!) it's a very amusing read.

b
beaholmes
Jan 07, 2016

An action packed story where the characters do exactly what I'd like to ; jump into a book!

m
me_mochi
Sep 03, 2015

My fave book! I love the twist and characters you can so connect with the characters !!!!and story.....kinda unless you have the power to jump into a book! Ps if you do plz take me to Charlie and the chocolate factory! I have to get that candy!!!!!!!!

PimaLib_JenM Aug 31, 2015

Imagine jumping in to your favorite book and interacting with the characters. Bethany has this special skill, which she shares with Owen under a certain amount of duress. She is super scared that talking to the characters will change the stories and mess up the real world, but will it?

f
FearfulSymmetry
Jun 13, 2015

I seriously loved this. It addressed our obsessions over fictional characters, and the meaning of fiction in our lives. I loved how it mentioned several of my favorite books. This book was extremely relevant to me even though I'm in high school. I'll definitely be reading the rest of this author's works!

Age

Add Age Suitability

violet_zebra_407 Aug 15, 2016

violet_zebra_407 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

h
HollyKelsch
Jul 19, 2016

HollyKelsch thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

m
mts
Oct 06, 2015

mts thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Quotes

Add a Quote

h
HollyKelsch
Jul 19, 2016

"Don't Marauder's Map me!"

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top