The Cold Dish

The Cold Dish

eBook - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
27
1
Penguin Putnam

Introducing Wyoming&;s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting first Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of Wolves

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming&;s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire&;s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.



Baker & Taylor
After decades of peace between the white and Native American communities of early American Wyoming, a young man who was once convicted for raping a Cheyenne girl is found dead, prompting sheriff Walt Longmire, his deputy Victoria Moretti, and friend Henry Standing Bear to investigate. A first novel. 25,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York :, Viking,, 2005
ISBN: 9781101043943
9781101036457
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mkpederson
Oct 13, 2020

Steve-the-Pirate (see comment below) does a much better job of saying this:
Craig Johnson is a tremendous writer; he creates complex characters without the use of many adjectives. This first novel in the series does an excellent job of grounding the reader in the character of Walt Longmire and in the culture and physical space of the Wyoming setting. Found myself using postits to mark passages that spoke to me - that’s unusual for me. The story caught me up but the writing did too. Five stars.

s
Steve_the_Pirate
May 20, 2020

Craig Johnson's "The Cold Dish", delivers an immersive murder mystery experience that delivers on giving well polished scene setting details, excellent character development, and superb twists. This is one of the most down to every detail immersive books that I have ever read. We see and learn everything through the eyes of the main protagonist Walt Longmire, a war veteran and aging small town sheriff in the gorgeous state of Wyoming. The details that Johnson gives us through Walt's narration are very impressively done, paragraphs and pages are spent at times to give us a complete picture of the geography and a feel for the environment. This in turn leads to a slower paced read that is more focused upon scene setting and building character development, before hitting heavy with the twists and turns of its plot. The second act really slowed down for me, and it left me craving for the action the plot seemingly promises. Thankfully when the third act came around though a switch was flipped and the plot really picked up, everything that Johnson was building towards pays off fantastically with surprising and superb twists that are adrenaline inducing and emotionally draining. This will not be a book you'll be able to easily forget. Murder mystery fans who are looking for a fresh modern experience in the genre owe it to themselves to try this first epic novel in the Longmire mystery series.

Best novel ever! Love the Longmire stories.

2
2greyts
Jul 28, 2019

The first in the Longmire series, this book is evocative in its description of sparsely settled Durant, Wyoming and it’s environs and in the way it includes Native American lore. The main characters, Sheriff Walter Longmire and Henry Standing Bear, are opposites: Longmire is what you see is what you get, while Standing Bear is both enigmatic and wise. I also like the way women are portrayed. They may not make as many appearances as the men, but they are, for the most part, fully developed characters as well. If you like this genre, it’s a strong five. If you don’t, it’s still a good story.

n
norma777
Jun 29, 2019

RECOMMENDED BY RITA

t
tjdickey
Apr 23, 2019

A western series, but so much more. Walt Longmire is a Wyoming sheriff who drinks Ranier, refuses to get a cell phone, and fully conversant in weapons and ammunition, but who also is fond of quoting various classics of European literature and can pinpoint the movement of a piece of classical music. The writing is strong, and rich in local geographical color and Native American lore and character.

p
Plug1945
Jul 23, 2018

- four HS boys w/suspended sentence
- two years later....one found murdered
- .45-70 Sharps buffalo rifle

s
sharlkan
Jan 31, 2018

Didn't watch any of the TV series but heard about it and decided to read the books. This first one was quite good so looking forward to the rest.

ArapahoeJillK Jan 23, 2018

First in a series, features veteran Sheriff Walt Longmire as he balances justice between Wyoming's white population and Native American community.

CRRL_MegRaymond Jan 05, 2018

Long-simmering resentments between white and native American residents of a small Wyoming town explode with the discovery a dead body.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top