Still Life

Still Life

eBook - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
74
6
3
 …
Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec and his team of investigators are called in to the scene of a suspicious death in a rural village south of Montreal. Jane Neal, a local fixture in the tiny hamlet of Three Pines, just north of the U.S. border, has been found dead in the woods. The locals are certain it's a tragic hunting accident and nothing more, but Gamache smells something foul in these remote woods, and is soon certain that Jane Neal died at the hands of someone much more sinister than a careless bowhunter.--From publisher description.
Publisher: New York :, St. Martin's Minotaur,, 2006
ISBN: 9781429967235
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
SrBeata
Mar 26, 2019

Great Series. Have read them all and am now reading them again but more slowly.

k
kkirby221
Mar 17, 2019

Great book. I will start to read the series. Great characters.

c
cknightkc
Mar 03, 2019

STILL LIFE is a literary mystery with an emphasis on character development rather than action. Intelligently written by author Louise Penny and set in a rural village in Quebec, this book will appeal to fans of PD James and Agatha Christie. A friend recommended this gem to me over a year ago, and I can’t explain why it took me so long to pick up it up, but it assuredly won’t take me another 12 months to read Book 2 of what promises to be an entertaining series.

a
Alyssa_RR
Feb 13, 2019

supposed to be a murder mystery. slow. not a bad story. just wish things could have progressed different

i
InsJavert
Jan 29, 2019

This book was a delightful break from the serious materials I have been reading as of late on political philosophy and theology. I was quite a fun and intriguing read. I found it to be a typical 'Who Done It' scenario with its own twists and turns. No real surprises within the plot or storyline.

Of great importance for me is character development followed by the plot or story line. If either of these fails, its pretty much down hill. Ms. Penny did an excellent job in the character development. You get to know the characters on a personal and insightful level, especially getting to know their thought processes and investigative styles. As to the story line, it was captivating and engaging, nothing over the top or out fo the ordinary so that the plot is believable and plausible.

I especially enjoyed the small town atmosphere in which the crime was both committed and investigated. Ms. Penny endearingly captured both the joy of and the biases of small town communities.

The first book in a series usually spends a great deal more time than subsequent books in the series on character development. I believe it was especially important for this series introduction as there are quite a few characters of both primary and secondary importance who have to be introduced. it will be interesting to read the second book to see if plot development becomes more primary.

a
ApollosRaven
Sep 07, 2018

Inspector Gamache series, no. 1. In re-reading 'Still Life' I gained a new appreciation for Louise Penny's remarkable debut novel in this ground-breaking series. Amazing characters in a village setting are contrasted with police officers with their own issues. A unique mix of the traditional village mystery with the police procedural - and equal weight given to each.

j
JMK1941
Aug 25, 2018

#! Inspector Gamcahe novels

v
vkreads
Jun 11, 2018

THIS is the FIRST in the SERIES of 14 TITLES
Still Life by Penny is the first novel of the series.
It also won the celebrated presigious Anthony Award in yr 2007 for Best First Novel.
This series, with the same detective characters, has a total of 14 titles sequentially in the series, published from 2005 to 2018 (KIngdom of the Blind.)
Penny's writing is captivating, smooth flowing, with page turning plots.
The characters are a fascinating dimension of contrasting qualities which, when assembled into a team of detectives, becomes a decisive form of brilliance. Likeable, challenging characters. Just like many of our friends or family.
It's very important to READ the books in sequence of dates published.
Many of the books in the series need to get ordered from the InterLibrary MNLink network.

JCLCherylMY May 05, 2018

If you like series set in Canada, check out Vicki Delany's Smith and Winters and Ausma Zehanat Khan's Khattak and Getty.

r
reeread
Apr 28, 2018

Recommended by friends. Quite intrigued by Detective Inspector Gamache’s insight into his colleagues, suspects and murder victim. Looking forward to reading the second in the series.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
b
BarMarKC
Mar 01, 2018

'When my death us do part
Then shall forgiven and forgiving meet
again,
Or will it be, as always was, too late?

PimaLib_SamR Mar 07, 2016

If you pretend to know, you aren't going to actually learn.

PimaLib_SamR Feb 24, 2016

We choose our thoughts, we choose our perceptions, we choose our attitudes. We may not think so. We may not believe it, but we do.

b
behere
Aug 04, 2015

"What do you see?" Elise asked Peter. (about of the art piece "Fair Day")
"Honestly, I don't know. But I know we need to accept it." p 11

b
behere
Aug 04, 2015

"Tell me what you know," signaled the beginning of the hunt. p 35

e
ElectricMayhem
Jun 28, 2012

"Now, can I interest you in a glass of wine, or perhaps a chandelier?"

Summary

Add a Summary
r
rogebc_0
Sep 30, 2018

Jane Neal, an artist in the town of Three Pines, is shot with an arrow and dies. At the end of the mystery her home is revealed to have walls covered with her most amazing paintings.

e
ElectricMayhem
Jun 28, 2012

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and his team investigate a suspicious death in rural Montreal. Instead of a tragic hunting accident it turns out to be murder.

n
nipper
Oct 16, 2011

murder in a small english town....centres around an artsy community and old grudges.....good

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top