A French Wedding

A French Wedding

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
"A French Wedding is a delicious novel about six college friends reuniting on the coast of Brittany to celebrate one of their own's fortieth birthday. Add sumptuous food plus plenty of wine, and the table is set for tricky romantic entanglements, fiery outbursts, and a range of secrets. Readers who loved The Vacationers and The Little Paris Bookshop will devour this irresistible novel. Max is a washed-up rock star who's about to turn forty and feeling nostalgic for his university days. All he says he wants for his birthday is to host his old friends at his house in the French countryside for a weekend of good food and reminiscing. But he has an ulterior motive: Finally ready to settle down, this is his chance to declare his secret, undying love to his best friend, Helen. Max's private chef, Juliette, has just returned to her hometown after a nasty breakup, and her parents' failing health move her to sell her dream restaurant in Paris. Feeling directionless, Juliette throws herself into her job, hoping that the peace and quiet it offers will be the perfect cure for her broken heart. But when Max's friends arrive, the introverted, dreamy Juliette finds herself drawn out of her orderly kitchen and into their tumultuous relationships. A weekend thinking about the past spurs more than one emotional crisis, as the friends take stock of whether they've lived up to their ideals. With a little seafood and a lot of wine, love triangles, abandoned dreams, and long-held resentments bubble over, culminating in a wedding none of them ever expected"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Doubleday,, [2017]
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9780385541848
0385541848
9781101974124
1101974125
Characteristics: 304 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
brangwinn
Nov 29, 2017

When I give a book a rating of “3” that doesn’t mean I don’t like the book, it just means it didn’t give me a lot to ponder. I really enjoyed this book. Of course, the food elements always add to the enjoyment of a book for me, but it didn’t leave me with new ideas. It left me satisfied, just what a “summer read” should do, it allowed my brain to go on vacation and just enjoy.

a
AnneCarolineDrake
Jul 10, 2017

The book's surprise ending made it worth my while to endure a tedious plot.

Who leaves a thriving restaurant to be with her ailing mother but says barely a word about the mother's passing or the father's subsequent care-giver-fatigue fatal illness?

What happened during the life-altering trip to rehab?

Who takes a trip to a lavish beach cottage but visits the beach only once?

Instead the author plodded through a series of booze and drug soaked nights and weekends without revealing much about why the characters needed so desperately to imbibe mind-altering substances. The ending gave me whiplash, and I wish the author had invested more in the characters' evolution and transformation.

b
Briarsyme
Aug 21, 2016

Rock star Max is turning 40. He gathers together six of his friends to celebrate at his charming private French cottage to eat, dance, drink and laugh for one weekend. And, wanting to give up his life time of womanising and living the high life, to finally go clean and declare his secret love for his best friend, Helen.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top