Who Is Rich?

Who Is Rich?

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age--for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You"-- Provided by publisher.
"Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Random House,, 2017
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780812997989
0812997980
Characteristics: 321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

x
xiaojunbpl12
Nov 20, 2017

Sharp wit, "impeccable erudition.
A cartoonist/comic illustrator....annual art colony in Cape, drew me to pick up the book.
Flash-back structure, with persistent thoughts of his wife & kids, as well as a billionaire's wife he couldn't stop screwing, Rich's narration couldn't make me develop a richer (not even bitter, if not savory) taste of the (rich and poor) life talked about, owe to delayed & gradual disclosure of Rich's upbringing and family (esp. Robin). Until the final chapter, yet reached the most romantic (amid the dark humor) to lift the despair.
Many artists and students are introduced and elaborated, some served a purpose in the plot, some appeared to be a less-meaningful distraction.
While "journey of the diamond earrings" luxuriates in suspense, "fornication" has exhausted its charm. I still savor (almost) each sentence, no crumb scattered.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top