The Lake Effect

The Lake Effect

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam

A funny, bracing, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything

lake effect | n.
1. The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas
2. The effect of elderly ladies, mysterious girls, and countless funerals, in upending your life, one summer at the beach

It’s the summer after senior year, and Briggs Henry is out the door. He's leaving behind his ex-girlfriend and his parents’ money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches, working a summer job as a personal assistant, and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the shore. It's the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents one day when he’s a multi-millionaire. But then he gets there. And his eighty-four-year-old boss tells him to put on a suit for her funeral.

So begins a summer of social gaffes, stomach cramps, fraught beach volleyball games, moonlit epiphanies, and a drawer full of funeral programs. Add to this Abigail, the mystifying girl next door on whom Briggs's charms just won’t work, and “the lake effect” is taking on a whole new meaning.

Smart, funny, and honest, The Lake Effect is about realizing that playing along is playing it safe, and that you can only become who you truly are if you’re willing to take the risk.

"Vibrant and smart . . . Perfect to tote around on vacation."
 —Bustle 
“Every word glows with brilliance."
 —Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World
"Dazzlingly hilarious . . . Erin McCahan is the reigning queen of summer YA reads."
 —PopSugar
“Observant, sarcastic, compelling, and very funny.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Summer romance at its best."
HelloGiggles
The perfect smart, beachside read. . . . Unforgettable.”
—Stephanie Elliot, author of Sad Perfect
"Elegant and touching." Publishers Weekly
“Refreshingly honest and real. . . . An absolute must-read.” —Elise Allen, co-author of Elixir
“Funny and poignant." —PureWow
"Thought provoking—and at times hilarious . . . A great summer read." 
SLJ



Baker & Taylor
Fleeing hometown troubles for a summer job on Lake Michigan, Briggs Henry is floored by his elderly employer's announcement that he will be helping her plan her imminent funeral, an arrangement further complicated by social gaffes, beach activities and a mystifying girl next door who completely resists his charms. Simultaneous eBook.

Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers,, 2017
ISBN: 9781101625989
1101625988
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

DCLteens Aug 23, 2017

While this coming of age story had funny moments, I thought it was simplistic and unbelievable.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top