Rules of Civility

Rules of Civility

Downloadable Audiobook - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
60
A chance encounter with a handsome banker in a jazz bar on New Year's Eve 1938 catapults Wall Street secretary Katey Kontent into the upper echelons of New York society, where she befriends a shy multi-millionaire, an Upper East Side ne'er-do-well, and a single-minded widow.
Publisher: New York :, Viking,, 2011
ISBN: 9780307934536
Characteristics: 1 sound file : digital
audio file,rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
y
yellow_cat_3186
Aug 26, 2019

Love it! I agree with the previous comment: it is poetic in every twist and turn!
What a incredible performance by the narrative - Rebecca Lowman. Love her work!

m
melmccurdy
Jul 23, 2019

Loved it!
The audio book and narrator were amazing.
I’m not sure I would have had the same experience had I read it instead of listening.
Poetry with every sentence.

n
nalahblueberry5
May 05, 2019

Loved it

a
amanoletters99
May 02, 2019

Was I reading the same book as the other commentators? I did not find this story engaging. If this author's writing is to be considered stylistic, well then, count me out. I used the 50-page rule on this one and struggled to make it that far. Did I miss something? Rubbish, I say, utter rubbish, ughhh...

g
GladstoneReader
Jan 26, 2019

Read this a few months after reading Towles' Gentleman in Moscow, which was a grand read with interesting characters and some Soviet Russian history. This reads very well as a first novel and it has the same mental flavor as Gentleman. I have a particularly fondness for novels that that illuminate the dignity that people can aspire to and achieve. My daughter has this book on her TBR list and I'm looking forward to her views on how accurately Towles portrays a female main character. It's my experience that males do poorly when trying to depict a female protagonist while women authors are better at portraying male protagonists. Plus, the late 1930s in New York City had such grand music, clubs, clothes, and vitality.

e
ellenorndorf
Dec 04, 2018

Excellent

k
kingsly_1
Dec 03, 2018

Having read His A Gentleman in Moscow Which I found extremely engaging I am looking forward to Rules of Civility

SkokieStaff_Steven Sep 26, 2018

Amor Towles’ debut novel “Rules of Civility” is an accomplished work of art. Its prose is polished to a high gloss, its dialogue is snappy, its structure is elegant. The plot proceeds at a leisurely pace so that the reader can linger over Towles’ stylish writing. Even the design of the book is striking, right down to the font on the chapter headings. This attention to the book’s surface is appropriate for its story is concerned with surfaces. It follows a group of social strivers in 1938 Manhattan who infiltrate the glittering society of their time in large part because they know how to present themselves well. What the book lacks is the tragic sense that pervades works like “The Great Gatsby” or “The House of Mirth” to which Towles’ novel of manners is sometimes compared. It’s as if Towles fell so much in love with his own characters that he couldn’t bear for anything truly bad to happen to any one of them.

TechLibrarian Aug 29, 2018

This isn't the sort of book I usually read, but I took a chance on it since everyone seems to be loving A Gentleman in Moscow, and I was waiting for an available copy. I was really surprised to find myself quickly pulled into Rules of Civility. I liked the narrator's voice a lot, and that helped; I think reading the back and forth banter on the page wouldn't have been as fun as listening to her performance. As the plot moved along, sometimes a bit slowly, I came to really like the characters themselves. And, I really liked that the main character was a reader, so there were lots of references to famous books and authors peppered throughout. I don't think this book is for everyone but I'd recommend it as a read-alike to The Great Gatsby, or Bel Canto, as the writing is similarly lyrical, and it's also set in a similar time period.

m
maipenrai
Aug 16, 2018

Though not as good as "A Gentleman in Moscow" this novel has excellent character development. Amor Towles is very literate!! It was so nice to read a book that did not have incorrect grammar in sentence after sentence. Highly recommend this author. Kristi & Abby Tabby

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top