Little Fires Everywhere

Little Fires Everywhere

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
129
10
3
 …
When a custody battle divides her placid town, straitlaced family woman Elena Richardson finds herself pitted against her enigmatic tenant and becomes obsessed with exposing her past, only to trigger devastating consequences for both families.
Publisher: New York :, Penguin Press,, 2017
ISBN: 9780735224308
0735224307
Characteristics: 1 online resource (338 pages)
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From Library Staff

#5 - A book set in or about one of the five BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China, or South Africa)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
JankaManka
Jul 09, 2020

A novel about hypocrisy, convenience and conviction that what is right for you just MUST be right for anyone else. But, sometimes, the ugly truth prevails... There are two heroines - one lives a convenient, straightforward life of middle class. Very soon she falls in the trap of believing that if you live "right", and under certain rules which are "generally known and respected", if you can defer wrong from right, nothing can happen to you or your beloved ones and you deserve anything your heart desires. The other one has a different, but much fuller life, and stirs established family conditions of the well-off first heroine. However, I did not like the end. The middle-class heroine, after a family disaster, suddenly starts to see through and decides to change. A heartbreaking, complex story.

c
christinegregori
Jul 05, 2020

This book was pretty interesting and started off so strong and mysterious but it fell a bit flat for me.

a
AMWayment
Jun 22, 2020

Everything in Shaker Heights is planned and there are rules that residents must follow. Houses can only be painted certain colors (to ensure aesthetic harmony), garbage is never put out in front of the house, lawns must always be cut promptly, etc.

The city motto says it all:“Most communities just happen; the best are planned”

When Mia Warren and her fifteen year old daughter, Pearl rent a home from the Richardsons, a prominent Shaker Heights family – their lives will become intertwined in ways they never could have imagined.

Mrs. Richardson liked to rent to people she felt were deserving of her help, people who may have had some tough turns in life. She felt it was her way of giving back. When she first meets Mia Warren and her daughter she thinks they are the perfect tenants.

One of the Richardson boys, Moody is curious about the new tenants and heads over to the rental property. Moody and Pearl hit it off immediately. Moody who has never wanted for anything, is surprised at how this mother and daughter make their way. Mia can stretch a dollar (and leftover food) farther than anyone he’s ever seen. It’s not long before Moody brings Pearl home to meet everyone. Soon Pearl is spending much of her time at the Richardson home. At first, everything is fantastic. Mrs. Richardson even hires Mia to do some housekeeping and cooking at the Richardson home. But it won’t be long before the many differences between Mia and Mrs. Richardson cause a divide that will affect the two families in unimaginable ways.
At first, Mia came across as incredibly selfish but it wasn’t long before I loved her. Her caring ways were evident and how she responded to the different crises that came up endeared her to me. I may not have agreed with all of her choices but I could certainly see how she would have made them. Right off the bat I was irked by Mrs. Richardson (the fact that she was rarely referred to by her first name was fitting). Mrs. Richardson was the type who wanted to be seen as someone who cared and helped others. However, you could tell right away that she kept track of all the good things she had done. And you never knew when Mrs. Richardson would want a repayment of her “kindness”.
There was a lot going on in “Little Fires Everywhere” but I found it easy to keep up. I will say that it had a bit of a slow start but I feel the author was just setting the stage for all that was to come. And once I hit the halfway mark, I was so completely invested into all of their lives and HAD to know what was going to happen next.

ChChlibgirl Jun 15, 2020

Little Fires Everywhere is a psychological mystery- much too slow burning to call a thriller- set in the suburb of Shaker Heights, Cleveland, where conformity is highly prized. Family dynamics, secrets, betrayal, and class differences are key elements of this novel. My interest did start to wane partway through, and though there are plenty of quite vivid characters I just didn’t find many of them to be particularly likeable, nor did I understand the choices they made, which made for some frustrating reading; however the story strands were intriguing enough to pull me through.

p
PiepieB
Jun 02, 2020

The first 100 pages or so seemed slow to me, but then things were kicked into high gear and the pages just flew. An excellent, excellent book - it's amazing how the words were conjured together, how the strands that made up the web of this story just kept connecting all the characters and their secrets. I loved how everything came together at the book's end - the fire, the characters and some of their backstories, and then the fire again. No, not everything was cut and dried at the end, but still, a very, very good ending. Celeste Ng is a genius, magical in the art of storytelling. Make this one of the books you pick up this year. I highly recommend the Hulu series as well!

j
jfd5
May 31, 2020

Very much enjoyed his book. A quick read. You never know what goes on behind closed doors.

s
Suellen1111
May 26, 2020

Worth reading. The characters are well defined & likeable; the plot line holds your interest. The first half is slow -- I skipped over some of it -- but it sets the stage for the action in the second half. And while the ending is not definitive, we have a pretty good idea how the characters are going to play it out. Originally, I resisted this book -- picked it up twice before I really got into it -- but it was well worth the effort.

d
dschirmer
May 14, 2020

I wanted to read this because the previews for the show seemed intriguing and I prefer to read a story first. I was disappointed, I did not find myself wanting to pick this up- the writing seemed amateur and surface level. I expected so much more given the hype that surrounded this book. I would not recommend to a friend.

s
singidunum_25
Apr 12, 2020

Well, for me this was just OK read. It wasn’t engrossing as I expected to be and took me some time to tune in properly. Now that mini tv series are showing on Hulu, I think I will watch it and see who did better!
FYI, tv series is equally bad.... very shallow.....

b
bookreader02
Apr 02, 2020

Little Fires Everywhere follows two families in the idyllic town of Shaker Heights. The Richardson's are the definition of privilege while the new arrivals, the Warren's are forced to live more creatively. The families soon become intertwined, with their children's friendships and opposing views creating inescapable tension.
Celeste Ng does an incredible job of interweaving various issues such as race, wealth and privilege through a micro-lens. Each character grapples with their own views and issues that create a descriptive and through read. Additionally, through the vivid setting of Shaker Heights, each problem is expanded and explained in a fascinating nature. Little Fires Everywhere is highly unpredictable with an intense plot that pulls a reader in. Though the beginning is slightly slow to introduce all characters, the rest of the book is filled with dramatic and compelling events. Little Fires Everywhere is a fantastic read for fans of Young Adult Fiction and General Fiction alike!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
ambdizzle
Aug 23, 2019

If a soul could leave a body, she thought, this is the sound it would make: like the screech of a nail being pulled from old wood.

t
TheresaAJ
May 07, 2019

"But the problem with rules, he reflected, was that they implied a right way and a wrong way to do things. When, in fact, most of the time there were simply ways, none of them quite wrong or quite right, and nothing to tell you for sure which side of the line you stood on."

t
TheresaAJ
May 07, 2019

"Like after a prairie fire. I saw one, years ago, when we were in Nebraska. It seems like the end of the world. The earth is all scorched and black and everything green is gone. But after the burning the soil is richer and new things can grow."

TheBookWitch Apr 14, 2018

"To a parent, your child wasn't just a person: your child was a place, a kind of Narnia, a vast eternal place where the present you were living and the past you remembered and the future you longed for all existed at once. You could see it every time you looked at her: layered in her face was the baby she'd been and the child she'd become and the adult she would grow up to be, and you saw them all simultaneously, like a 3-D image. It made your head spin. It was a place you could take refuge, if you knew how to get in. And each time you left it, each time your child passed out of your sight, you feared you might never be able to return to that place again." p. 122

ArapahoeMaryA Mar 15, 2018

Sometimes you need to scorch everything to the ground, and start over. After the burning the soil is richer, and new things can grow. People are like that, too. They start over. They find a way.

c
cknightkc
Jan 30, 2018

“…his life had been divided into a before and an after, and he would always be comparing the two.” - p. 21

c
cknightkc
Jan 30, 2018

“All her life, she had learned that passion, like fire, was a dangerous thing. It so easily went out of control. It scaled walls and jumped over trenches. Sparks leapt like fleas and spread as rapidly; a breeze could carry embers for miles. Better to control that spark and pass it carefully from one generation to the next, like an Olympic torch. Or, perhaps, to tend it carefully like an eternal flame; a reminder of light and goodness that would never - could never - set anything ablaze. Carefully controlled. Domesticated. Happy in captivity. The key, she thought, was to avoid conflagration.” - p. 161

c
cknightkc
Jan 30, 2018

“Rules existed for a reason: if you followed them, you would succeed; if you didn't, you might burn the world to the ground.” - p. 161

c
cknightkc
Jan 30, 2018

“One had followed the rules, and one had not. But the problem with rules... was that they implied a right way and a wrong way to do things. When, in fact, most of the time they were simply ways, none of them quite wrong or quite right, and nothing to tell you for sure what side of the line you stood on.” - p. 269

c
cknightkc
Jan 30, 2018

“Sometimes, just when you think everything’s gone, you find a way… Like after a prairie fire… It seems like the end of the world. The earth is all scorched and black and everything green is gone. But after the burning the soil is richer, and new things can grow… People are like that, too, you know. They start over. They find a way.” - p. 295

Age

Add Age Suitability
k
Kristen MERKE
Mar 25, 2019

Kristen MERKE thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

coxkelsey72 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

m
Mya614
Mar 04, 2018

Mya614 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Sexual Content: Teenage encounters, abortion

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Coarse Language: Mild swearing

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top