American Science Fiction

American Science Fiction

Four Classic Novels 1953-1956

Book - 2012
Rate this:
Following its acclaimed three-volume edition of the novels of science fiction master Philip K. Dick, The Library of America now presents a two-volume anthology of nine groundbreaking works from the golden age of the modern science fiction novel, works by turns satiric, adventurous, incisive, and hauntingly lyrical. Long unnoticed or dismissed by the literary establishment, these visionary "outsider" novels grappled in fresh ways with a world in rapid transformation and have gradually been recognized as American classics that opened new imaginative territory in American writing. This first volume contains: Frederik Pohl & C.M. Kornbluth / "The Space Merchants", Theodore Sturgeon / "More Than Human", Leigh Brackett / "The Long Tomorrow", Richard Matheson / "The Shrinking Man."
Publisher: New York :, Library of America,, [2012]
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9781598531589
Characteristics: 803 pages ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SMCL

To Top